Maybe I Know Nothing

Maybe I Know Nothing  (8 Dec. 2007)

*

I see your expression as you open the door,

A falcon with your treasure.

Your call is frightening to the untrained ear

I hope I can keep the secret.

*

But something’s different this time:

I don’t think it’s just the light.

Something is carving marks

Into your granite

Little noises from the fault-line

Where now is just a plain

Soon a mountain crashing skyward

As you whisper

*

And you reach out your hand

The way you always do

But there’s something new

About the way you touch my skin

Once a leopard on the prowl

Seeking flesh for her children

Now content

To lie alone in the tall grass.

*

I step inside

Like every time before

And even though a waltz is playing

We just sit down

And wait

And wait

for the blue of early morning

*

And maybe I know nothing

Yes maybe I know nothing about these things.

Published in: on October 6, 2011 at 2:02 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://skookumwawa.wordpress.com/2011/10/06/i-know-nothing/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

